How #BHF2015 was won – Men

Dyabas (Scottish Touring side) made the final four and were joined by Swin’s Stags (Richmond HC) and both Combined Services sides (Colour Purple and Purple Cobra).  In semi-final 1 Colour Purple took on Swin’s Stags, after a close first ten minutes where either side created opportunities in front of goal, Colour Purple struck first with a penalty corner drag flick strike, then several minutes later sealed the 2-0 win with an easy tap in at the far post after a defensive error at the top of the circle.

The second semi-final hosted Dyabas and Purple Cobra; this was a thriller full of action and controversy.  Purple Cobra took the lead early on, minutes later Dyabas equalised with a fantastic solo effort.  With four minutes to go, Purple Cobra took the lead again with a second strike from a penalty corner which was deemed dangerous by the Dyabas defenders however after conferring both umpires agreed the strike was a legitimate shot on goal and the goal stood despite Dyabas remonstrating with the umpires, the final result of semi-final 2 was Purple Cobra 2-1 Dyabas.

For the first time in BHF history, two teams from the same club/outfit play each other in the final.  Colour Purple v Purple Cobra, despite several chances from both sides and Purple Cobra missing an almost empty net with less than a minute on the clock the score at full time remained at 0-0.  Penalty shuttles ensued and to make BHF history Colour Purple were victorious at 2-0 and became the team to win the BHF Men’s title the most times with six titles, surpassing five times winners (1990, 1995, 1997, 2000 and 2001) Disillusioned Aardvarks (Touring side).